(Springfield) The Conference of Women Legislators (COWL), a bipartisan, bicameral, nonprofit organization of women legislators in the Illinois General Assembly, announces the 2020-2021 Annual Scholarship Awards Program.

COWL created the scholarship program as part of its mission to promote economic independence, community service and leadership development.  

Rep. Kathleen Willis, Co-Chair of the Scholarship Committee, announces that up to ten scholarships of $2,500 each will be awarded. These college scholarships are aimed at helping women who are earning their college degrees, in some cases, later in life. 

“One of the gaps in the state college aid programs is assistance for women, 25 years of age or older, who may have had their education interrupted or who never had a chance to start college until later in life. These non-traditional students don’t fit neatly into any programs,” Willis said. “Rather than pass a law to create a new grant, we started raising money to fund scholarships on our own. This scholarship program has made a difference in the lives of many women by enabling them to achieve their educational dreams.” 

Scholarship applicants are required to enroll in an Illinois accredited college or university for a minimum of six credit hours to qualify, making the scholarships available to part-time and online students.

Applications are accepted at www.cowlil.com until Friday, May 1, 2020. Awardees will be notified by Monday, June 1, 2020.