Reick Bill to Dissolve Inactive Advisory Board Receives Unanimous House Approval

State Representative Steve Reick (R-Woodstock) has passed clean-up legislation in the Illinois House that removes an inactive advisory board from the state statutes.

SB 1478 amends the Radiation Protection Act of 1990 by abolishing the Radiologic Technologist Accreditation Advisory Board (RTAAB). “This advisory board was created to assist the Illinois Emergency Management Agency in ensuring that technologists who apply radiation to patients are qualified to perform the procedures safely and effectively,” said Reick. “But due to fiscal and staffing realities, this group has not been fully utilized for quite some time. In fact, they have not met since 2010.”

The vote to dissolve the RTAAB was unanimous in the House. It previously also received unanimous support in the Illinois Senate, where State Senator Pamela Althoff (R-McHenry) sponsored the bill. With House and Senate approval complete, SB 1478 now moves to Governor Bruce Rauner’s desk for his signature.